Yesterday, I went to breakfast just around the corner from the apartment. I got a french toast type thing and tea. It was really good. Afterward, I went to the Reina Sophia, the museum of modern art in Madrid. We saw the Guernica, the most piece of modern art. It is really incredible. The rest of the museum ranged from awesome [Miro and Picasso] to just plain weird [everything else].
After the Reina Sophia, I went to lunch [at 3!] with Ana. It was really good to see her. I don´t think I had seen her in 10 years! There was a set menu since lunch is their big meal of the day. I got sopa de picadillo [peppers and egg...surprisingly good!] and some kind of beef stew. Then I climbed onto a bus to Sol, a big square with lots of shops and restaurants. It is near La Plaza Mayor, the biggest plaza in the city. I just wandered around for a while [and went to McDonalds to go to the bathroom!] before taking the Metro home. The Metro is like Washington´s...really good.
When I got back to the apartment, I took a nap [following the great Parnell tradition] because I was going to go out that night. We left around nine for dinner [I know, redonkulous]. Riding in a car in Madrid is an experience. No one yields, uses turn signals, or abides any other traffic law. Fab!
Anyway, when we went out, everyone was speaking Spanish so fast that I couldn´t understand a word! Sometimes someone would venture to speak in English, but a lot of them speak English like I speak Spanish...not so hot. After, at about 11:30 [yes, PM], the group went to a bar w. It was so much fun! It was much easier to speak with people one on one...I could actually understand what people were saying. We talked politics some, which you know I loved! We danced until 3:30 [ridiculous] when the bar closed. I got home really late...about 6:30. My life is ridiculous.
Needless to say, I slept in pretty late. The scheduling here is much different than in the US...it was no big deal that I got up so late. I went to the Prado after a light lunch. I. Love. the. Prado. I have decided that Velazquez is my favorite Spanish painter...just beautiful! The Prado is large, but not nearly as large as the Met or the National Gallery, so I finished around 6. I played Wii for a while, [that video game where you actually play the sports...it is very satisfying to hit the virtual tennis ball since I can´t hit a real one]. I think we might eat some dinner now [it is 9...PM]. I have pretty much resigned myself to being in a desperately hungry-full cycle...que serĂ¡, serĂ¡, ¿no?
No comments:
Post a Comment